Discuss Automation gate problems in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

tino1888

Hi all,

I am a bit of a newbie on this so go easy :)

I have recently installed new open/reverse gate hydrolic motors on to residential gates in a property of flats. They have been working fine for two months now and using the old control equipment these where just like for like replacements.

The problem which is happening now is sometimes they are sticking closed, not opening and causing the residents to struggle to get there cars in & out.

The photocells seem ok athough ones glass is shattered a bit. When I go to repair or find the fault there seems to be none and I put them back on auto mode to be used through the keyswitches or frequency transmitters.

The factors are now onto me to fix the problem and I can't fathom out what can be wrong.

I know a fair bit about electrical supplys and control equipment as I am a qualified electrician with Hvac controls experience however this seems to be slightly above my knowledge.

Any feedback or help on this would be appreciated.

Glasgow East

Martin

Always found automatic swinging gate and sliding gate systems to be nothing but aggravation, especially heavily used systems. I now advise on the use of rise and fall barriers, which i've found to be far more reliable.

Its so frustrating, the instructions on the old pcb controllers are so complicated. Also i am scared to change the control board over to the new one incase i do more damage than good.

wish there was an engineer out there to put a cape on and come to the rescue.!!

I originally thought, that was an easy job, got a welder in quick , straight forward change over, now the photocells and everything are playing up.. :(

Sleepless nights :-(

^^^ as above, Electric gates are a PITA