Discuss Charging batteries and battery voltage? in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
OK I was an auto electrician back in the 70's and 80's so under stand a lot about batteries, however at that time the sealed for life battery was rather new, and you may have had a VRLA in a fire alarm, but not in a vehicle, the AGM battery was unheard of.

So did have stage battery chargers for fork lifts and like, but for the home battery charger it was a poor quality transformer, rectifier, and built in ammeter, would start charging at 8 amp and when it had dropped to 2 amp considered charged, we did have fixed voltage 13.4 volt if stand-by, and 13.8 volt on the car, some could go to 16 volt, that was the open circuit voltage for a RB106 or RB108 regulator with a dynamo, but would rarely reach that voltage with battery connected.

But today the 8 to 12 amp home battery charger seems to have been replaced with a 3.8 amp "Smart" charger, the one I have three user settings under 12Ah and over 12Ah and cold conditions. It has 3.8, 3, 0.8, 0.1 and zero amps it charges at.

So it will drop current in stages and 3.8 and 3 amp are not a worry, but the 0.8 and 0.1 amp range can it seems raise the battery volts quite high, up to 14.4 volts, and with a good battery what it does is raise to 14.4 volts then drop to 0.1 or zero amps depending on range, so left on charge the battery normally shows 12.9 volt as it drops to 12.8 charger cuts in, volts go to 14.4 and then it switches off again and it is rare to see the volt meter show anything but 12.8 volts.