Discuss continuity test on a protective bonding conductor in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hope i find someone who can help me with this one. I have this question on an exam:
A continuity test on a protective bonding conductor gives a result of 15ohms. What possible reasons for the result and what actions (if any) that should be taken?

My answers where:
-wrong size conductor shows high resistance cable so i must replace it by the correct one and do a retest
-conductor is damaged so cable must be replaced and restet
-connection of the clamp to the pipework has oxidised so it must be clean, reconnected and retested
-termination of the clamp if is not screwed correctly, it will need to be tighten properly and retest

After giving these asnwers my teacher told me many times that is wrong and i need to think as if i was an engineer (which I'm not) and need to write it as if I'm writting a report.

Aren't these the way an electrician write a report and most importantly... are these the right procedures?

Many thanks in advance

Hope i find someone who can help me with this one. I have this question on an exam:
A continuity test on a protective bonding conductor gives a result of 15ohms. What possible reasons for the result and what actions (if any) that should be taken?

My answers where:
-wrong size conductor shows high resistance cable so i must replace it by the correct one and do a retest
-conductor is damaged so cable must be replaced and restet
-connection of the clamp to the pipework has oxidised so it must be clean, reconnected and retested
-termination of the clamp if is not screwed correctly, it will need to be tighten properly and retest

After giving these asnwers my teacher told me many times that is wrong and i need to think as if i was an engineer (which I'm not) and need to write it as if I'm writting a report.