Discuss Extending a cable with 'positive polarity' in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

Lee Fowler

I have basic knowledge from my IT background.

We were burgled so finally pulled my finger out to fit a camera...
we got one 5v 0.4a plug (1 metre)

you can prob guess where im going with this...

ok so purchased 5mtr '2 core flat flex' cable to extend it...
cut the original cable/plug in half so i could extend it...
Made the external cabling water tight etc...
Put a 3amp fuse break - safety etc...
Went into the bedroom where i put the cable through the wall...
the five year old pulled off my marker i originally tagged the cable with so i knew where to connect them back up...ooops

how to i know which way round to connect these cables again... I know i got a 50/50 but dont fancy blowing a £139.99 outdoor camera.

Now i have a plug 0.5meter cable with the original adapter/plug on the end with a positive polarity. As well as the new flex cable that is coming into the room.

I have a multimeter with a continuity tester etc etc. I just watch to know the simplest way as to remove my waterproofing on the 'outside join' would be a nightmare.

Any help would be appriciated.

set your meter to d.c. volts. range whatever is a bit higher than the voltage on the cable. with the ends separated, connect to the dc supply and stick your meter probes on the 2 ends. red probe should be +. if it's wrong way round there will be a - sign in front of the value.strange to find 5v on cctv. it's usually 12v.

Does the original cable for the camera have to colours on it ? If so as long as you connect the same colour cable at each end to the cable you using to extend it then you won't need to know which one is positive and which one is negative .

for example White cable from camera to brown flex
and then brown flex to white cable on plug

flanders & xy the original cable houses two black cables inside the outer layer...