Discuss Extractor fan – Is a re-wire change to change timer duration? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

robinsmith30

This is my first post to seek advice from experts as a non-electrician, as to whether what I am being told is correct.

We have recently been supplied an Xplelair inline extractor fan with timer in our bathroom. The electrician fitted it such that when the bathroom light is switched off, the fan switches off. We have asked for this to be changed such that the timer can be used (i.e. the fan switches off 10 minutes after the light is switched off). We have been told that the fan needs to rewired to do this at our cost.

This sounds a bit suspicious to me. Does such a change typically need re-wiring?

I’ve done a little research, and there only seems to be one wiring diagram shown http://www.taps4less.com/pdf/Xpelair-Axial-Inline-Shower-Fan.pdf
However, I’m not an electrician, so seek advice if anyone knows whether the electricians position is reasonable.
Kind regards,

Robin

It all depends on what cables go to the fan very hard to answer without more info

why are you getting an electrician that you don't trust to do your work??
Or why are people always suspicious of electricians???

This is my first post to seek advice from experts as a non-electrician, as to whether what I am being told is correct.

We have recently been supplied an Xplelair inline extractor fan with timer in our bathroom. The electrician fitted it such that when the bathroom light is switched off, the fan switches off. We have asked for this to be changed such that the timer can be used (i.e. the fan switches off 10 minutes after the light is switched off). We have been told that the fan needs to rewired to do this at our cost.

This sounds a bit suspicious to me. Does such a change typically need re-wiring?