Discuss Help please on a sub consumer unit fed from RCBO in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Long time lurker so this may be my first question. I am a qualified electrical engineer, but in aeronautics not domestic installations, and I may therefore ask silly questions. We have purchased a property that is unfinished, and where the electrician went bust before the installation was completed. 90% of the building is certified with BC, but there is a new kitchen in an attached outbuilding, that is substantially wired but not yet connected. My question relates to circuit protection.

There is a conventional Hager late 2018 twin RCD CU in the main house, along with a Henley block that splits to the meter tails to another Hager board containing a twin pole switch and 5 RCBOs. Each of these feeds a different out building via SWA in each of which there is a metal small CU with a handful of MCBs and usually a rotary isolator switch as well.

The new kitchen is fed from one of these Hager RCBOs via 16mm 3 core Doncaster SWA, which reaches a Hager CU in a cupboard in the new kitchen. It is presently not connected.

The new kitchen has a bunch of radial circuits. In essence some feed an Island with oven, hob etc - all radials. Others feed a steam oven, coffee machine, conventional oven, quooker tap with 7l cylinder, and a dozen sockets on a separate area in the same kitchen (basically wall side and island side).

Whoever specified the CU has bought and fitted a Hager which has two RCDs and numerous MCBs. My understanding, which may be wrong, is that if the CU is fitted with RCDs and fed by the RCBO, then nuisance tripping is inevitable? I think the developer may have made a wrong assumption or the ex electrician made a mistake.