Discuss Installing plug sockets in steel furniture. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,

Figured I'd come straight to the experts with this one because I don't have a great deal of electrical experience.

I'm a designer at a furniture manufacturing company. We manufacture furniture almost entirely out of folded sheet steel profiles.

Currently I am working on designing a bespoke kitchen for a client, this client would like UK mains sockets installed on a couple of her units.

I'd just like to know if there are any regulations or best practice rules when it comes to installing electrical systems on a metal surface.

As far as I understand I'd need to ensure that the steel units are earth bounded to the structure of the building, is there anything else that I need to be aware of?

I want to make it as painless a job as possible for the electrician doing the install. Any advise would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

L

All the metal units will indeed require Bonding. Not sure what others thoughts are but personally I in your installation documentation I feel you must insist any customers already have RCD type protection fitted supplying the power to any sockets fixed or fitted to your units.

Couldn't the metal cabinets become live under a fault condition and if not bonded give some one a Zap? Especially if sockets are installed in them?
I don’t think they are metal cabinets, from my understanding it’s the metal back boxes he’s talking about.

Will you be supplying the metal furniture item with the sockets already installed and wired, with just a cable or terminal block for the installer to connect to the house's electrical system?

The two issues I can see are: