Discuss Interesting talk with DNO engineer in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

I work as a Maintenance Electrician on Highways (not street lighting). I won't go into great detail but we have cabinets with DNO fuses and a meter then normally a two pole isolator. I've been doing this role for almost two years, We were transferred / Tuped across to another firm who tendered for the contract. One of the guys who has far more Network testing experience than me (though doesn't have 2391), was insisting a number of months ago that we needed to pull the DNO fuse (cutting seals) to get a true ZE and determine the Fuse rating. Up until then I'd been Testing ZE at the closest point to the meter with Earth removed to test towards the supply and noting the Fuse rating of the carrier (most are sealed anyway), generally the Earth is 16mm or 25mm and is two feet long so of negligible resistance. He still keeps insisting we remove fuses despite being told by hierarchy we should Not do this.

Who's right in this instance? We do have G39 BTW

Doesn't look as if your question been answered.

When testing for a Ze on a domestic property, I would take my reading from the incoming supply to the main switch of a CU. Unless I was replacing the tails, or had to isolate the supply using the main fuse, I would not cut the seal. Therefore I would not be able to verify the size of the main fuse. I would document what was written on the fuse carrier, noting I had not inspected the fuse itself.

Is there a particular reason, you need to identify the size & rating of the main fuse, in your case?

In my case my DNO allows Scheme members to remove their main fuse (with appropriate PPE), and reapply a temporary seal, provided by them and furnishing them with the details. Not all DNO's do though.