Discuss No need to do 17th edition if you have level 2 and 3 2330! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

1sammaskell

Hi there just a quick one to make sure everyone knows if you have done level 2 and 3 2330 there is no need to do your 17th edition as it will be shown on your jib card anyway. Please dont let these colleges or training providers tell you that you need to do it!!!

The whole idea of doing the 17th edition and likely in the near future 18th edition and so on is to show your keeping up with the present edition of the regulations we all have to adhere to.

Without that bit of paper to prove you have a full understanding of the latest regulations if the proverbial hits the fan you could find yourself in very deep water.

I have been working to the regs book for three years and using it for that amount of time at college if people dont know it after three years they never will!

Most employers will expect you to have the 17th or they wont offer you a job. Also insurence companies will void any claim if employees dont have it.

Having your level 2 and 3 is one thing, having passed a test showing that you understand how to find answers to electrical questions/problems and where to find them is another. The wiring Regs are the foundation of our industry and what all electrical qualifications are taken from. My advice to anyone is to get your 17th ed qual regardless of whatever JIB says, you need it imo.

Most employers will expect you to have the 17th or they wont offer you a job. Also insurence companies will void any claim if employees dont have it.

Having your level 2 and 3 is one thing, having passed a test showing that you understand how to find answers to electrical questions/problems and where to find them is another. The wiring Regs are the foundation of our industry and what all electrical qualifications are taken from. My advice to anyone is to get your 17th ed qual regardless of whatever JIB says, you need it imo.