Search the forum,

Discuss no of modules to a string? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

edexlab

-
Arms
Reaction score
Hello all I'm new to PV can anyone tell me what the procedure is for determining number of modules to a string, I know the ideal is to keep voltages down to 120v or less ,is this the norm?:confused:

Hello all I'm new to PV can anyone tell me what the procedure is for determining number of modules to a string, I know the ideal is to keep voltages down to 120v or less ,is this the norm?:confused:

Hi welcome along.

The answer to your question is dependant on several aspects. Forget the 120V or less also. Recent inverter I fitted didn't even start to generate until 180V and could drop to 150V before it stopped. Maximum voltage on this particular inverter is 400V. This is DC voltage also.

Aspects to consider are: Maximum voltage output of the Module, Maximum open circuit current, Maximum input voltage of Inverter, No of strings the inverter is capable of receiving.

There is no hard and fast rule on models on a string. It is solely on design, module type, make etc and inverter requirements. Arrangement of strings, series or parallel or a combination of both.

Mark

so its up to the designer! . I've done the NICEIC PV course which gives limited/basic info (not too impressed!)
So i've been reading a lot, and this was the main concern after reading DTi pv in buildings re; <120v I've done a couple of installs using sanyo 230's 2 strings of 5
which measured 190v each on to Sma 2500, although the supplier insisted we should
put all 10 on one string ,did this just to see and found array produced 380v (very good clear conditions)
I decided to stick with having 2 strings at the lower voltage for obvious reasons
I'm thinking about doing a proper course possibly at CAT machynlleth
any feedback or suggestions?

Hi Edexlab.