Discuss oversized MCB's in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I am an electrician nearing retirement, so really I should know this but am not sure. I have not done any installation or real heavy electrical work for some years now. I have a small business, dealing with the maintenance of student accommodation buildings. Electrical, plumbing, carpentry, gardening etc. I have not done an eicr for a while but have in the past and am qualified. I was asked whether I would undertake the eicr on one of my regular sites and the money I was offered was too good to turn down.
I was let down by two electricians. Therefore have been doing the job myself. I am most of the way through it, took nearly a year, due to the size, over 300 boards and the Covid restrictions. My question is this. There are 1Kw heaters in each of the rooms and they are all protected by a 20A type B mcb. By my reckoning it should be 6A. Also there are Wi fi routers in the flat clusters, also protected by a 20A mcb, they only draw a very small current. The loop, and pfc check out o.k.
Do I record this as a C3 ? There are over a thousand like this in the building. Also in a lot of the boards, there are no covers on the unused live terminals. Do I record this as a c3. The installation itself is only 6 years old and I have not found many problems, apart from 2 faulty RCD's and some loose terminals. which we have rectified as we went along.

As long as the cable rating and installation method allow it no code required.

You say the wifi routers are protected by a 20A MCB. How are they connected?