Discuss Some total newbie advice needed! in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello!

I am a complete newbie to the field of electrics, and I am wishing to retrain in my career as an electrician (currently a qualified teacher). I am 25, and I'm already a little concerned as to the lateness of 'getting into the game' so to speak, and potentially competing against other eventual candidates who will be nearly 10 years younger than me.

I am based in the North East (Middlesbrough) and have looked/emailed colleges in regards to a training programme that will train me as a qualified electrician - with Middlesbrough college being the main option.

They offer two main training courses it would seem, and it is this that I can hopefully get some advice on.

Middlesbrough College - Driving Ambition, Inspiring Success

This seems a shorter route into qualifying at level 2, and I am unsure as to whether to apply for this course, or...

This course - the traditional and longer apprenticeship route.

Any advice at all from anyone would be gratefully appreciated, and thanks for the time given for anyone to read this.

Michael

Hi Mate
Is Teaching really that bad, why go from a rewarding career into the cutthroat stressful life as an Electrician? I'm not trying to dissuade you from trying to become a Sparky, what area would you like to get into, Domestic, Commercial ?or Industrial, although my thought are you are either an Electrician or you are not, but I'm old school and a bit wary of these short courses, but that' my take, others will disagree I'm sure.

Do you have any practical experience? good luck in what ever area you go into, I can't help with the new qualifications, as I did my Apprenticeship when Jesus played in goal for Bethlehem.

Hello!