Discuss Upgrading two fuse boards to amendment 3 CU in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
My first post so be gentle. And as I'm not an electrician please be patient also!

Just buying a small cottage (from son) to hopefully convert to a holiday let and obviously the fuse boards need upgrading (see pic). There are two Wylex fuse boxes (one on left supplying four storage heaters), and a Legrand CU (top left) supplying the garage via the SWA at the top of the board.

image.jpg

Before getting an electrician in, a couple of questions:

1. The two Wylex boxes (storage heaters and main house fuses, covers removed for clarity) will be replaced with two amendment 3 CU's. Is it better to move the Legrand CU into the garage, taking it off a spare way in a split load CU (2 RCDs) housing the main house fuses. Leaving it where it is means it will also have to be changed to Amendment 3 CU presumably, but not if it's in a non occupied garage, completely separate and some 15 metres from the house?

2. I want to get the DNO in to install 100A main isolating switch between meter and CU's but presumably with the current setup with meter and time clock, and there are three sets of tails going to the CU's, they'll need to install three isolating switches (or two if garage supply CU is removed into the garage)?

While you have the DNO in, you might want to point out the poor meter wiring, for example, two tails stuffed into the load terminal of the meter. The 24 hour CU neutral is also fed straight from the cutout, when it should really be connected via the neutral block fed from the load side of the meter.

While you have the DNO in, you might want to point out the poor meter wiring, for example, two tails stuffed into the load terminal of the meter. The 24 hour CU neutral is also fed straight from the cutout, when it should really be connected via the neutral block fed from the load side of the meter.