Discuss Basic Complete Newbie Question in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

Kerry Keays

Hi everyone,I have today literally started learning about electrics and have never fitted anything before. We recently built a new piece of furniture next to a double plug socket so had to remove it so the furniture would fit next to the wall. I made a hole in the unit and now need to extend the cable so it can fit through the hold and into the new location of the new double socket.1) I need to extend some cable from the wall only buy about 15cm so I bought some strip connectors and some insulation tape - I presume that is what I need? 2) So my second question is what type of cable do I need - I presume its 2.5mm twin and earth cable?3) If you see the attached photo there are 2 sets of red and black wires and 3 earth wires (1 of the earth wires seems to come from the other side of the wall. So how many of these wires do I need to connect to the double socket? What do I do with the extra earth wire?Thanks!!!!KerryPhoto 12-11-2011 16 08 20.jpg

your sockets will most likely be on a ring, with two sets of cable at each. Crimps and heat shrink will be better than connector block, in most places you can buy cable by the metre so there shouldn't be too much left over at the end. One of the earths will be coming from the back of the box the socket is mounted on and it's more than likely 2.5mm twin and earth cable
Think very carefully before doing this though mate electricity can and does kill and cause fires, you may want to get an electrician out to do this, it shouldn't be too pricey when you factor in your lack of knowledge versus your and your families lives.
Good luck

have to agree with trev. for what it will cost you to get a qualified sparks in, it will be done safely and give you peace of mind. connector block and tape is a recipe for disaster.