Discuss BMW S1 E87 Battery Positive to rear lights in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

oblivion

DIY
Reaction score
Newbie here and electrics is not my forte. I can get by with installation of a car stereo and amp but that's as far as it goes. So I own a Series 1 BMW 2007 model and have just had a new AGM battery installed (which lives in the boot) I noticed a few wires coming off the positive end, one isn't connected to anything but the guy left it connected. One wire coming off positive is power supply to my amp. A smaller thinner red wire comes off positive and runs to the front of the car, no idea to what. Lastly is a thicker brown wire which runs to the front but has been electrically taped to a thinner brown wire. The thinner brown wire I have traced goes directly to the rear break lights where several wires have been snipped at the plug end. I have left it alone as my lights to the car all work fine. Just curious why on earth a single wire would be running from the positive to my break lights ( I can only assume at some point someone has messed with it, possibly aftermarket lights fitted or similar). Any ideas.

Any evidence of previous tow bar wiring. It is possible it may have been a positive permanent supply to the Canbus bypass relay.

Any evidence of previous tow bar wiring. It is possible it may have been a positive permanent supply to the Canbus bypass relay.