Discuss Carpark lighting in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys,I’m a maintenance electrician for the council but unfortunately control circuits aren’t my forte,anyway would anyone know the wiring setup for contactor,time clock,photocell,and a hand/off/auto switch for car park lighting. Sorry can’t get my head around it so a wiring diagram or link would be perfect. Thanks..

Have you got a pic of the setup? Might help for drawing some lines or descriptions on. Or is this a new installation to be done
Hi Matthew,here’s the set up of another carpark I worked at years ago,pity I didn’t take a picture of the wiring behind it. Was trying to get a replacement time clock to be honest. The carpark lighting I’m going to be doing is identical to this,just need the wiring diagram for it all...

Attachments

• F3308033-9219-451F-902C-FC1DAC7B4AF4.jpeg
    53.3 KB · Views: 35
It depends how you want the controls to work.

Do you need the timeswitch and photocell in series or in parallel?
What should the three position switch do in each position? Presumably auto would allow control via the timeswitch and photocell, off being completely off and manual being an override on?

It depends how you want the controls to work.

Do you need the timeswitch and photocell in series or in parallel?
What should the three position switch do in each position? Presumably auto would allow control via the timeswitch and photocell, off being completely off and manual being an override on?
That’s exactly right,regarding the setup of the controls,I take it that’s in parallel?..

That’s exactly right,regarding the setup of the controls,I take it that’s in parallel?..

What I described is a possible operation of the three position switch.

I asked whether the photocell and timeswitch were to be in parallel or series. How are they intended to operate?

What I described is a possible operation of the three position switch.