Discuss Electrical works in an extension in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

asbestos789

Hi,

This is my first time post here.

I have had an extension built on my own house in NW London. A double storey side extension and rear Kitchen extension. New Kitchen and Bathroom installed.

The work has been going on since 2011 due to money constraints, but is now finished. I had the electrical work done by an Niceic registered electrician and I have been trying to contact him to provide the required certificates, but have just found out he has gone to live in Spain !!!

I have had another electrian in to have a look who has advised the consumer unit does not meet the regulations as it is plastic. He has advised that I have a plastic split load consumer unit and says that it should be made of metal. The previous electrician installed this approx a year and a half ago !!!

As mentioned there is a new Kitchen/Bathroom and new circuits. The electician I had in a few days ago had a general look around and said that work looked to be completed to a good standard.

I am looking for a bit of advise..

Which type of electrical certificate do i require ? I will be passing this over to building control to certify the electrics.

Do I need to upgrade to a new metal consumer unit ?

If I ask for an electrician to change that consumer unit, will that certificate cover all the work that the previous electrician done ?

Thanks in advance...

Tell the electrician to look at the regs. BYB top of page 5.

The third amendment to BS 7671:2008 Requirements for Electrical Installations was issued on 1st January 2015 and

is intended to come into effect on 1st July 2015. Installations designed after 30th June 2015 are to comply with BS

7671:2008 incorporating Amendment 3:2015.

If your electrical design was done in 2011 then your CU doesn't need to be non-combustible.

wot they said ^^^^^^.and you need an Electrical Installation Certificate ( EIC ).