Discuss Finding the right electrical course ? Over 50 and need some advice! in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello all, I am currently a site manager for a private school and although I enjoy the job it is only part time and I am looking to start out on a the path as an electrician.
I have the basic electrical knowledge but obviously lack the quals.
2 problems though -:
1) I am 52, so not a spring chicken :)
2) Funding a large sum of cash for a course could be a stumbling block.

Basically I am looking at advice on which course to start off with, probably just do domestic electrics to start with but progress to commercial eventually. I would also be looking to train without giving my job up and in a way that I could pay in stages.
Any advice would be gratefully received.
Thank you

Hi Chris I'm no spring chicken either & swapping trades on to hopefully becoming an electrician & going to college.

If you want to go down the commercial route then college would be your best bet as they do night school part-time & all will let you pay monthly.
There you will start from scratch on level 2 and then level 3 and from then it will be your NVQ.

unfortunately You May of missed the boat this term for college as most enrol Sept. might be worth ringing round a few.

Or you could go on one of these 5 week courses which do domestic installer set course but many experienced electricians on here don't recommended that route.

Best of luck

Last edited:
My local college tried to make me start on a level one course as I couldn't prove my maths GCSE grade from nearly 20 years ago.
I decided to go to a training centre instead which let me jump on to level 2.

My local college tried to make me start on a level one course as I couldn't prove my maths GCSE grade from nearly 20 years ago.
I decided to go to a training centre instead which let me jump on to level 2.