Search for tools and product advice,

Discuss Fire Alarms in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

I mentioned on here the other day that I have no experience with fire alarm systems, so....

I was thinking of buying a system to wire up to a board to play around with just to get my head around it etc, I was just looking on safelincs at them. Does anyone know which would be a good one? Like I say, it's just to get my head around it and know what I'm doing to give me a bit more confidence in them for when I eventually have to touch one.

Presumably I want a 2 wire version?

There are a few different types on the market, Conventional are 4 wire, 2 wire, Alarmsense, old Twinflex (discontinued) and new Twinflex Pro (no recommended)....And Addressable........... 4 wire, is as it says, 2 wires for detection, and 2 wires for sounders. both monitored circuits.
Conventionl1.jpg
2 wire systems, have detection and sounders on the same 2 wires, from the zone. They use reverse polarity to sound sirens or bells, notice the sounders are all wired incorrectly,
2 Wire.jpg
Alarmsense is wired the same way as 2 wire, with detection and sounders on the same cables...but have the own type of detection and sounders, which can only be used.

Addressable is a 2 wire loop circuit, were each detector, sounder or interface is given a unique id number usually from 1-127, which the panel can identify anywhere on the loop.
Addressable.jpg
hope this gives you a outline of the main systems

Last edited:
Thanks tazz that's very helpful, I'm just contemplating doing the 3 day fia course, you never know where it will lead to, another string in the bow etc...

The FIA courses are well recommended, and compared to electrical courses, are alot cheaper......go with install, commissioning and service at first....and leave the design to others, until you have a few years under you

Hi,