Discuss Fuse carrier in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Mavisg

Hi, I am Mavis, a new member. I am not an electrician, hope that is okay, but want to ask a question. Twice in the last three weeks we have had the 5 amp fuse blow and would like to know if it is possible to buy a fuse carrier that could be just plugged in alongside the others in the fusebox, when and if this happens again, allowing the replacement wire to be put in without the hassle of doing it in the dark with a torch! I am waiting for our electrician to come and fit a new element in our cooker but cannot get him on the telephone to ask him. I will also be asking him to check the wiring to see why this is happening.

The bulbs were long life ones, a 15w and 20w and most probably had come to the end of their life, as they had been in a long time. Do you know if the large wattage would cause this to happen? Many thanks for your help. Regards to all Mavis

Firstly, energy saving lamps are unlikely to be the problem. I'm guessing you have a Wylex fuse box, flatish fronted fuse carriers with red yellow blue or white "inserts" fo the blades to fit through? If these ae the ones it is possible to buy retrofit circuit breakers which give you the convenience of modern breakers without having to change your whole fuse box.