Discuss help - im stuck changing a light switch for my bathroom (with fan) in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
hello all, pardon my ignorance in not employing an electrician, however, im a diy'er whos changing the light switches in my house and came across this unusual wiring for my downstairs loo. its a single light which has a fan which can be isolated as necessary. I ordered all the new chrome light switches and realised this wiring was a bit different to my first floor bathroom. I gave it a go but the fuse board tripped when i wired it all so something must not be right. any ideas where each wire goes? I apologise for being a complete beginner in this instance!
Ive attached photos of the original set up and the new chrome fitting.
Thanks in anticipation :)
Andy

Attachments

• IMG_4378.jpg
    38.3 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_4376.jpg
    39.3 KB · Views: 22
That’s not a light switch, mate. That’s a switched fuse connection unit by the looks of it.

Take it back to screwfix and get a “2 gang lightswitch”

It will possibly come as a 2 way variety of switch, so just ignore the L2’s.

Come back to us when you’ve got the right thing.

Reactions: DPG
Its only a single light. I bought a switched fuse fitting as its the same as whats on currently but the wiring looks completely different. A 2 gang lightswitch isnt what was on before?

That’s not a light switch, mate. That’s a switched fuse connection unit by the looks of it.

Take it back to screwfix and get a “2 gang lightswitch”

It will possibly come as a 2 way variety of switch, so just ignore the L2’s.

Come back to us when you’ve got the right thing.
What the right hand pic shows is a click 2 gang 'grid' plate with (looking at the back) a fuseholder on the right and a 2 pole switch on the left.
So the OP has an equivalent product, but maybe not access to all the terminals he needs to replicate the circuit.