Discuss HELP, testing near Slough. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Sparky28

Hi all,
I have recently completed an Installation near Slough that requires a cert, before I get a barrage of abuse I am a qualified electrician, I work on trains so I'm a bit out of touch with regs.

I did have someone lined up but let me down :-( If anyone would be interested in testing the install and wants any info on the install please feel free to get in contact.

Sensible replies only please.

Cheers

Certifying (EICing) someone else's work is the numero uno cardinal sin in the electrical world. I can't imagine you're going to be receiving too many offers. Sorry.

Thanks Heisenberg and archy for quick reply, I can understand it being a sin, but can't see the problem if I was willing to show every electrical connection, containment which is surfaced mounted, and circuit design etc? Surely if passes the tests (which I have done) then why would anyone be worried??

Archy, the owner of where the job is done has notified council and they have done their inspections etc as units were built from scratch.

Thanks Heisenberg and archy for quick reply, I can understand it being a sin, but can't see the problem if I was willing to show every electrical connection, containment which is surfaced mounted, and circuit design etc? Surely if passes the tests (which I have done) then why would anyone be worried??

As you've already done the work, and from what you say, some testing. Why not simply notify LABC yourself and get them to come and inspect it? Or is it because of what they would charge you?

Heisenberg, excuse my ignorance, not sure what labc is or what they would charge? I quoted £150 per cert, 6 required, one for mains board, 1 per unit x4 (4 circuits each) and an outdoor area. Sound reasonable?

Are these units dwellings?
If not, ignore the Part P nonsense.
And we've gone full circle, you want someone to issue EICs! :)

+tion...