Discuss How can I become city and guild with HNC? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I'm studying electrical and eletronic HNC now then HND later but I want to become an electrician.

I checked a lot of jobs are required City and Guide qualifications.Thus I'm planning to take the city and guide after the HNC and become a full qualified electrician.

Can someone give an insight about stages I have to pass up to become a full electrician and how long it will take?

With HNC qualification still I have to start at the beginning or there are some exemptions?

And any cheaper way to do it? I saw fees to some of training companies are very high and I can't afford it.And due to my age I can't be an apprentice.

SORRY, if I have post this one on the wrong sub forum as it my time here!

HNC first, electrician second. Backwards, but whatever suits you i suppose lol.

For everything, including optional extras you're probably looking about 5years.

City and Guilds 2357 is what you're after i believe. Which encoporates NVQlevel3? (hopefully, someone can clarify that)

Then after you've done that course, whilst working alongside an electrician either as an apprentice or a mate, you can enroll on the 2395 and 2394 inspection and testing courses with the C&G. Having a JIB grading of Electrician or Approved Electrician is what you should be aiming for IMO.

Doubt you'll have any exemptions with a HNC qualification, that's why i said you've done it backwards, could be wrong though. And nope unfortunatley, the courses are priced highly throughout.

HNC first, electrician second. Backwards, but whatever suits you i suppose lol.

For everything, including optional extras you're probably looking about 5years.

City and Guilds 2357 is what you're after i believe. Which encoporates NVQlevel3? (hopefully, someone can clarify that)