Discuss immersion heater timer problem in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

ample current

Can some one help, i have been asked about an immersion heater which stopped working so she pressed the reset button on the temperature control, which worked for a while but now the timer has burnt out, any ideas what i should look be looking for when i go round to look at it. would a fault in the element cause this. and what would be the best way to test if the elem ent was at fault. I have a megger 1730 tester so could i use this to check the element. I am new to this especially heating.

Thanks in advance

Mark

element should read about 20ohms L/N. then IR test to E. if any doubt, replace. if OK, could be timer has just given up the ghost, or a poor termination has caused overheating. make sure a replacement timer is suitably rated for a 3kW load.

Thanks :icon14: if it doesnt read 20 ohms is it likely to be a higher reading or a lower one ? and I take it you mean an ir test on the whole immersion heater circuit.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks :icon14: if it doesnt read 20 ohms is it likely to be a higher reading or a lower one ? and I take it you mean an ir test on the whole immersion heater circuit.
If it reads higher (a lot higher)(using low ohm setting not IR) then its means its open circuit, element broken.. For IR you wana test the element to E as you could still have a 20ohm reading across L and N making it look ok, but a pin hole in the element shorting to E so test L-E at element..
If all reads out ok, I would fit new stat and time clock..
If heater looks down, then get replaced, fit time clock..

PS your reading may not be esactly 20 ohm.

i tested the element L-N and it read about 18.5 ohms, didnt check L-E across the element, and i take it ir means insulation resistance test.
The time clock had burnt on the load side on the live conductor at the connector.