Discuss Need advice: Dark shadows developed in screens of 4 different devices within six weeks. May this be an electrical issue? in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Nancha

DIY
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I'm new to the forum and seek advice on an issue that I have been experiencing in my flat in Ireland. I'm not an electrical professional and only have a superficial knowledge of most topics in this regard.

I am experiencing the following issue:

Over the last two months, I had 4 different devices (3 TVs & 1 iMac) developing black shadows inside the screens - despite being plugged into separate extension leads across the living room. The shadows would vary from device to device in size and position but would not disappear once they have appeared. Factory resetting the devices was unsuccessful too.

Assuming these were product-related errors, I consequently had the newly bought TV replaced twice. Unfortunately, the third replacement developed the same issue after only a few days. All TVs were of different make and model (Hitachi 45", Samsung 55", Philips 65", Apple iMac 27") and I have since purchased surge-protected extension leads.

Since I am still waiting for yet another replacement, I cannot say for sure whether the new extension leads would prevent further damage in the future but I could observe that the black shadows have become increasingly more noticeable.

I have never had any other issues related to electricity in this apartment. Moreover, I have always made sure not "overload" any extension leads and to plug them into separate outlets.

I consider having an electrician performing a check-up but would greatly appreciate any advice on what can cause this kind of repeated damages to new devices.

Thanks everyone in advance!

Regards,
Robert

I assume the newer devices are under warranty so have you had any feedback from the supplier/manufacturer.