Discuss new kitchen wiring nightmare, please help! in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

le'deps

Hello folks, I have a problem, we're having a new kitchen & last weekend everything was ripped out & of course the wiring is not what it needs to be. I am an extreme novice at this stuff but I had our kitchen fitter come round & advise me on what to do & so I have channelled out where the cables need to be & am planning to lay the cables so they can be plastered over & connected up by an electrician when the kitchen is fitted on monday *panics*

The problem is that now I have channeled where we decided between us (me & the fitter) was best I have a new problem. To the left of the main power source (no.1 on pic) right along the side of the socket box, is the gas pipe, which goes up the wall from point 5 on the pic, so the channelling (no.6) that i've done to the left of that source I now can't use, that was supposed to be the feed for the oven (with 6mm cable).

So now the only way round it that I can see is if I go to the right of that main source & down parallel to point 3 on the pic, which will power the cooker hood & comes off the socket to the far right of the pic (point 4). But i'm wondering if there is some safety reason that I can't do that & that is why it wasn't suggested by our fitter. Is it ok to have two cables running side by side like that? I can't see why not, but I know nothing. Anyway, please help, I have hardly any time to sort this

p.s we did consider raising up the main power source a bit so it would sit inside a cupboard & wouldn't have to be sunk into the wall so it could run over the top of the gas pipe with no channelling required, but the we realised there won't be a cupboard there, it'll be the splashback, so that source (no.1) needs to be flush

wiring.jpg