Discuss Oval conduit fill sizing in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

tvrulesme

DIY
Reaction score
Running some cables and fitting some back boxes to save some money in preparation for an electrician to do a 1st fix. Just wondering if there is a simple table available to show what size cable(s) will fit into oval conduit?

Specifically 2 x 6mm2 T+E cables (induction hob and oven) and 2 x 4mm2 T+E (socket radial)

Oval conduit comes in 13,16,20,25,32 and 38mm sizes. Which of those sizes will fit the 2 x cables for 6mm and 4mm respectively?

As an electrician I used to allow the customer to do the chasing on some rewires, however it rarely worked as the chases where either not deep, or un evenly chased, would go off on one and be outside zones.
I would end up redoing the chases. Thus spending more time than was budgeted for.

so my advice to you is chase deeper than you need and keep it clean, even and straight.

chasing is hard work and takes years of practice to get it right. It is a skill in its own right.

I stopped letting my customers try to save money.

as for a table of sizes. Ask your electrician. He is the one who is specifying sizes and the design. No one else can do this for you other than the designer who is going to sign the work off.

As an electrician I used to allow the customer to do the chasing on some rewires, however it rarely worked as the chases where either not deep, or un evenly chased, would go off on one and be outside zones.
I would end up redoing the chases. Thus spending more time than was budgeted for.

so my advice to you is chase deeper than you need and keep it clean, even and straight.

chasing is hard work and takes years of practice to get it right. It is a skill in its own right.

I stopped letting my customers try to save money.