Discuss Portugal Electrical Regulations in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Has anybody experience of domestic electrical work in Portugal?

I need to do a job on an apartment for a family member, they have a 30amp supply? and want it uprating to 45, I was going to change the main MCB currently 30amp and uprate the tails back to the DNO's fuse from 10mm to 16mm.

They seem to seal everything from the main Isolator to the meter housing, everything has an anti tamper seal on it, I look for some new ones on fleebay :)

They have had a local electrician look at it who simply bridged out the 30amp main switch leaving only the DNO fuse for overall protection, not to clever IMO and you can't isolate the installation any more.

Hi swparksy.
30amps is generaly the most you can get on single phase. I've been working here since 2003 and have only seen one place with 45amps.

To get more you need to upgrade to a 3 phase system. Unfortunately that can be complicated and/or expensive. Apart from changing the consumer unit and the external fuse box, any work done will at least need to be certificated by a Portugese electrician who will then need to go through Certial, a company affiliated with EDP the electricity company who approve the incoming main supply/meter/fuse box, then EDP will connect 3phase with varying costs.

Reply to Portugal Electrical Regulations in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hey all, I'm looking for some advice to help me troubleshoot my strange issue with my consumer unit/fuse board on which my RCD keeps tripping...
Replies
Views
I bought a house due to the largish workshop /garage which was already kitted out with an electrical connection from the house. Unfortunately...
Replies
Views
Hello everyone, I have recently qualified, though yet to start practising, as an electrician. I have noticed, at my home, the tails from the...
Replies
Views