Discuss Question about Electronic 7 Horstmann in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

peggyxoxo

DIY
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I just moved a new flat last week and this is my first time using boiler heater. And I am confused with the use of that timer. I have never looked into it until hot water running out yesterday. After pressing 'BOOST' (Pic 1), I got the hot water after awhile. In the next day, when my partner had a shower, the water running out again. So we tried to reset the things.(Pic 2) FYI there are day & night electricity are separated in my building.

-ON time 9PM
-OFF time 12PM
-BOOST SELECTION: slide to TIMED BOOST

I observed from time to time today that the BOOST ON light is constantly red. Is it normal? Is there anything going wrong? I feel confused with this. It would be lovely if someone could figure it out and sort out the most energy efficient way. Thanks!

Attachments

• a7188669-1fe5-4815-bb9d-d4a225178a08.JPG
    306.2 KB · Views: 27
  • IMG_4839.JPG
    427 KB · Views: 19
read the instructions fot boost timer operation. you need to set the on/off times using the clock buttons. ( and tell 'im/'er or gender neutral 😚not to spend so much time drowning in the shower 🤣🤣).

Last edited:
First thing to say is that timer is a Horstmann 7 "Maxistore", different from the current model, and over 20 years old. It's not a model I am familiar with, and so far I have been unable to find a copy of instructions or the circuit.
Can you tell me if your hot water cylinder has two immersion heaters on it, one near the bottom, and one about half way up?
Do they both have wires connected, and do both wires go to the Horstmann timer, or does the bottom one go to a separate switch?

There are various possibilities such as:
timer is set wrongly
timer is broken
a switch is off somewhere
an immersion heater has failed
I could go on!

Can you provide a picture of the tank and where the wires go?
And do you have the instructions for that timer?