Discuss This could have been nasty... in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Dave OCD

-
Mentor
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
We've been upgrading some bits and pieces in a rented house which hasn't had anything done for at least 40 years by the looks of it.
The picture is where an old fused spur and box was being renewed as it was really manky and cracked too.
This would once have been the external wall but a 'lean to' was added years ago and it's part of the kitchen now.
I was just about to drill new fixings as the new box didn't match the existing holes and so lucky the loose bit of plaster fell off.
That's the main incoming supply cable, makes me shudder....

Attachments

• IMG_5233 (1).jpg
    512 KB · Views: 78
Many years ago now before I was an apprentice a good friend did drill through his main supply cable, with a metal Black and Decker drill putting up a picture mirror.
That cable too was buried in the render of an old now not external wall. I was stood not that far away, watched him leave the steps he was on and hit the floor drill smoking and the drill bit gone down to the now very black chuck!
He was fine luckily, I don't know how, it could have been fatal!
EMEB as they were turned up and the engineer said 'that was unlucky but I can see how it happened.'
He was on a temporary cable for a few days while they dug the road up and replaced the supply cable, surface up the wall of the house!
Sy

Many years ago now before I was an apprentice a good friend did drill through his main supply cable, with a metal Black and Decker drill putting up a picture mirror.
That cable too was buried in the render of an old now not external wall. I was stood not that far away, watched him leave the steps he was on and hit the floor drill smoking and the drill bit gone down to the now very black chuck!
He was fine luckily, I don't know how, it could have been fatal!