Discuss untrained/unskilled persons carrying out electrical work/repairs within a company in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

thebassman

Hi All

I would like some opinions from fellow sparks,I work as a foreman electrician for a large Logistics company and I am part of the building maintenance team we have all trades in the team. Each depot has a what my Manager calls maintenance men ( I call them caretakers/Janitors), they carry out weekly checks of the depots and do simple repairs and change lamps.
My question is we have one guy who claims to know everything, recently he has been replacing light fittings, hand dryers, hydro boils and has tried to repair faults in our dock levellers and caused more faults.He was also going to wire 2x 3phase supplies to compressors this was stopped when our other spark got wind of it.
The above is just few of what he does. I have spoken to the manager he told me he is not to carry out any electrical repairs but our traveling foreman is telling him to do the repairs
As far as I can see regulation 16 of the Electricity at Work regs would stop him???
I don't see the point of me being at work. We have a 1st year apprentice who asks why can this unskilled person carry out works that he cant do in his first year, it must make him feel whats the point of collage.
I look forward to your comments or advice. The guy in question has no trade skills he was a labourer.

Danny

The wiring regulations, the electricity at Work regulations, the building regulations and the health and safety at work act all agree that work on electrical systems must be undertaken by persons competent at the work they are doing so as to prevent danger to themselves and others.
Whilst there is no specific requirement for training this is implied and probably expected although long term experience may be acceptable.

If your manager is stating that he should not be doing repairs then the manager should be communicating this to the foreman.