Discuss What training course I will need to do my job safely? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

LordKelvin

Dear All,

Someone will remember me from the other 3D...I am still in training (so not going in the field) but my tasks are taking form and I would ask to you experts what kind of training course I will need to attempt to be SAFE myself and...safe the others...

The machine has got mechanical (rotating parts, blades to cut, etc..) and of course electrical components (switches, relays, motors, PLC, circuit breakers, etc.)

My tasks might be:

1 - troubleshooting of ANY problem in our machines sold to the customer. So I will know the machine and all its components.
2 - design improvement of the machine (mechanical side and electrical side)

my doubt is: I have a degree in Mechanical Engineering, Do I need to be an electrician for this job?? I do not believe so because it`s less challenging than be sent somewhere to fix some machines...it`s OUR machine and we know where it will be sold...

At the same time I suppose I will need some "official" training on safety etc.

May you guys please advise me about what I need exactly to do this job on the electrical side? there are 1 day course, 3 days courses... 17th courses... I am a bit confused :(

Really thanks.

Mario

Your training should mainly be in relation to machinery controls and machinery safety and how to design and modify these in safe manner.
You should know electrically what constitutes a safe supply for your machines but thereafter the Wiring regulations will be fairly irrelevant.
You should also be trained in the relevant regulations applicable to the provision and use of work equipment (PUWER), Supply of machinery safety regulations, health and safety at work act, etc.
You would also need to be aware of the applicable standards like these, if relevant to your machines (taken from the Schneider handbook)