Discuss What work am I able to do? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Ryan Lee

Hello

I am a qualified electrician with level 3 2330, and 17th edition wiring regulations qualifications. I do not possess 2391.

I no longer work full time as an electrician and am curious as to whether I am able to advertise and carry out any work myself, despite not having 2391 and being part of a governing body?

If so, what work?

Many thanks

Ryan

The short answer is anything you're confident in your abilities to do.
Imo every electrician should be able to test and certify his/her own work. After all we're taught (or should have been) to do it during our apprenticeships.
Don't forget, there is no need to notify any commercial or industrial work (obviously the electricity in those environments is less hazardous than in a domestic situation lol)

Hello

I am a qualified electrician with level 3 2330, and 17th edition wiring regulations qualifications. I do not possess 2391.

I no longer work full time as an electrician and am curious as to whether I am able to advertise and carry out any work myself, despite not having 2391 and being part of a governing body?

If so, what work?

Many thanks

Ryan

As what's already been said above....

BTW, the part P providers are not governing bodies, they govern nothing!! They are there purely to collect annual fee's from the qualified electricians, and to allow those that are not qualified in any way shape or form, be deemed as a competent person on the same fee.....

Yup, schemes are mostly just a badge you wear that you've paid for.

The only miniscule plus point is being in one proves you have a calibrated piece of test equipment....as for using it.....

read part p of the building regs. downloadable from planning portal.

basically, in a domestic situation, the following work needs to be notified to LABC.

1. new circuits. 2. CU replacement. 3. any work in a special location, e.g. bathroom.