Discuss whats PIR???? in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Damon

I often read on here about guys doing PIR tests etc....I am a newbie and im guessing its not Passive Infra Red?

What does it mean/involve etc...?

Cheers

Maybe not in name per se, but it is a requirement for the electrical system to be sound and safe in rented accommodation, it's just that most landlords don't seem to see that...

It will soon be called an Electrical Installation Condition Report, so if you're going to do your 2391 then you may want to wait for about 18 months until BS7671:2008 including amendment 1 comes into play on the 1st of January 2012.

Maybe not in name per se, but it is a requirement for the electrical system to be sound and safe in rented accommodation, it's just that most landlords don't seem to see that...

It will soon be called an Electrical Installation Condition Report, so if you're going to do your 2391 then you may want to wait for about 18 months until BS7671:2008 including amendment 1 comes into play on the 1st of January 2012.

do you know of anything else that is changing when these amendments come out.

Yes i do.... Many many things!!

You can download the draft for public comment here: - Draft for Public Comment (DPC) - BS 7671:2008 Amendment No 1 - The IET

We're getting surge protection, medical locations, gangways, designers discretion on installing RCDs for minor works.

Over 200 pages of changes!

:)

Reply to whats PIR???? in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

I have a baffling problem with a newly-installed PIR floodlight and I'd like advice from the forum as to whether it's defective (and should be...
Replies
Views
Trying to install a Lutron Toggle/Dimmer (TGCL-153PR) Confused, as the current switch has 3 wires gong to it Black, White, and Red (there is also...
Replies
Views