Discuss Wiring a fan and a light so they operate at the same time? in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

W

woodywoods12345

Hi,

Im new here, so bare with me!

I wonder if anyone can help? In my bathroom my extractor fan used to turn on at the same time when you pull the light cord.

Today, i put a new light up and when i removed the base there was 6 wires coming from the ceiling, one set of 3 had black, blue and a yellow/green wire. The other set of 3 had red black and yellow/green.

I wired the light using the black, blue and green wires. However, now only the light works, so im left without a fan!

How do i manage to get them both working? Do i have to wire both red wires to the one red wire in the light fixing?

The light fixing itself only has 3 sockets (im not sure of the technical term)

Sorry if this doesnt make any sense - as you can tell im new to electrics!!

Can anyone help? Thank you!

(ps thanks for having me! :D)

did the fan run on after the light was switched off? from your post, i suggest you get a qualified electrician in. wiring in bathrooms is no job for inexperienced guys.

no the fan does'nt come on anymore, the light works, but the fan doesn't - they used to come on together when the light cord was pulled.

Im no electrician by any means, but I've installed new lights in every other room no problem at all - as they only had 1 set of 3 wires.

this one is a bit confusing though because there are two sets. Thats all! i dont have the money to get an electrician in :(

honestly, without seeing it , i can't tell you what to put where