Discuss CU replacement with earthed conduit and singles in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Dartlec

Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Just carried out an EICR on a flat that was wired in the 70s - with singles run in earthed conduit to each point and the trunking providing the earth at each socket/light point.

Ground floor flat, so needs RCD protection on sockets at least and seems due a CU change, but I have no experience with metal trunking so would appreciate the benefit of those with more experience...

IMG_20210608_152824 - Copy.jpg

Upper board can go as there is now a combi and central heating - no off peak circuits being used....

The lower board has approx 8 conduit lengths coming up, and 2 from above...All seem to be correctly glanded to the board - and the ZS readings at all sockets/fittings seem to be fine...

Obviously the chances are nil of finding a board to exactly match what's there - but I'd rather minimise the work - not to mention not having the skill or experience on metal conduit work (and this not being an empty flat where I could learn on the job).

What's the best way to ensure continuity with a new board?

1 option I can see is to leave the existing board in place purely as a 'junction box' for the earths and singles.... and fit a new one above it - leaving only the two upper conduits to deal with.

Another would be to replace the lower board with plastic trunking - terminating all the lower conduit with their existing bushes , but then I'd need to find a way to ensure continuity across the trunking - really don't want to have to cut metal trunking to do the job as it maybe 'should' be done.

If they are cut back, is there an approved clamp or similar to earth them, without needing to thread them for the correct glanding? I've found what is called a bonding nipple that looks like it would still allow space for the singles to exit.