Discuss health and safety in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

F

f1ngerz

I do mostly sub contracting , when speaking to a new firm about some work he asked me about what health and safety qualifications I had . I'm a JIB electrician ecs assessed cscs.
Any one got any other qualifications that are sought after ? Whats a passport to safety? Also want to get a full lifter / cherry picker licence ,the one I had was valid only while working at a certain firm? Any info gratefully recived:D

the lifter qualification your neding is IPAF their web site has a lot of info DO shop around tho some smaller trainers do good deals

Passport to saftey is similar to CSCS ECS but different in that it has modules that can be added PFS forecourts Neuclear sites ect

Pasmas (portable alloy towers) is another good one to have for commercial
Asbestos awareness is handy
there are loads most of which arent asked for some are only used in certain sectors by certain employers IMO Pasma IPAF and CSCS are most asked for
CRB check and Disclosure scotland can open some doors as well

you have ecs / cscs so they are H+S qualifications..... depending on the size of your company you could get CHAS or Safe Contractor which isn't too harsh on firms smaller than 5 guys, but a little heavy on firms bigger than that. IPAF for powered platforms, which you should get from a hire shop for about 150 or more and is a day course. Then you may need PASMA for towers etc which is similar cost and time.

Hope this helps a little:rolleyes: