Discuss Neutral Inter Connections in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

dmh

I've been investigating a problem today with an RCD that keeps tripping. I have discovered that on one of the ring circuits that is RCD protected there is a neutral connection to the non rcd side of things but for the life of me I cannot track down where it occurs. Any suggestions from anyone as to how to find this and is this likely to be the cause of the RCD tripping (customer is adamant that nothing has changed recently and the RCD problem has only just started happening)

Thanks

may not be that

is it random trips?

you may get a reading across if IR readings are low-what sort of reading?

whats the IR readings like on the outgoing side of rcd?

the IR on outgoing side of rcd- with rcd in off position

leakage may be accumulating by the sound of it

Last edited by a moderator:
Sorry to maybe seem a bit stupid but I am a bit new to this fault finding stuff. If i test this and find that i have poor readings what would this suggest the fault is?

the rcd is detecting an imbalance between the line and neutral currents ie an earth leakage fault. Low IR reading between lives and earth could be responsible for the rcd trip, ie 30mA of current "leaking" between a live and earth. Sometimes rcd trips can be due to cumulative effects of lots of small earth leakages from several sources - lots of electronic devices will quite naturally contribute a small earth leakage, particularly computers. As the shower is a common factor have you had a look in their to check their are no small leaks.