Discuss Oven & Hob Connections in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

aidan

Hi,
I'm a builder fitting a new kitchen for myself and need a little advise please.

I am putting in all the back boxes and cables in the wall to save a little money but unsure on the cooker side of things.

I have put 6mm T&E cable to cooker switch above worktops (which will come directly from the consumer unit), then 6mm T&E cable coming out below worktops.

The plan was to take the 6mm T&E cable which is below the worktop to a double socket, in which the single electric oven and 5 ring gas hob will plug into. This double socket will be accessible via a cut out in the back of cupboard next to oven.

Hope this makes sense, and if it does, will this meet building regs?

all depends on the rating of the appliances. i would install a 6mm from the isolator to the point under the worktop, then let your electrician decide on the best method . ( you are going to employ a spark to inspect, 2nd fix, then test and certify the work, i hope).

Surely if you're a builder you would know if it complied with BUILDING REGS.
And I agree with Telectrix for the electrical side.

"you are going to employ a spark to inspect, 2nd fix, then test and certify the work, i hope"
The last thing he would want to do is pay an electrician and get it done properly.

you are going to employ a spark to inspect, 2nd fix, then test and certify the work, i hope

Yes, I am.

I'm not an electrician, so how would I know this?

The last thing he would want to do is pay an electrician and get it done properly.
Why is that then?

you are going to employ a spark to inspect, 2nd fix, then test and certify the work, i hope

Yes, I am.

I'm not an electrician, so how would I know this?

Why is that then?