Discuss Testing problems need a little help. in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

kes123

Hi all. i am new to all this and just practising on my own system using megger 1552.
Trying to do measurement of the external earth fault loop impedance (ze)

So i have isolated, removed main earthing conductor.
I have then connected one probe to the earth that I have disonnected and the other lead to the incoming line on the supply side.

This is a live test and i have set my megger to no trip. the unit then beeps but only picks up a voltage of 157volts and then goes to error.

is it me, well i know it is but what am i not doing right

cheers

you don't use no trip for Ze. only use no trip when measuring Zs downstream of an RCD. the no trip test is a 3 lead test. thats why you're getting errors.
think you are connecting correctly. 2 leads. red to L, black to E. set megger to Hi.

Telectrix is our megger man and he will be along I'm sure for this.

On my meter which is a martindale veritest you check the Ze on the hi test not the soft non trip test, though I doubt that would give you an error code, all it will do is give you perhaps a higher than expected ohmeric reading.

must have posted while you were getting your fingers into gear, malc. LOL.

yep, hi current 2 lead for Ze on megger. think the new megger will do a soft test 2 lead now.

Hi just to clarify. I set megger to hi, connect one end to disonnected earth and the other to the line.

When I do this it shows 230volts then trips the system

you should be connecting to the "live " side of your main switch, with the switch OFF

Why would you want to do a soft test Ze ??? is something happening that being here I've missed
op is learning how to use the tester. suggest buying christopher kitchers book. "guide to inspection and testing". also, read the instructions for the megger.