Discuss 32A to 2x 16A in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

DrySand

DIY
Reaction score
I am currently looking at installing some equipment in a small IT comms room and am looking for some advice on the current setup and how to proceed, I am not an electrician myself.

1: Currently there is a 32A supply being fed directly into PDU with 13A sockets, same as the the link below, my first thought is that this is unsafe, but as each plug would be fused am I wrong?
https://cpc.farnell.com/lms-data/pdu-12ws-v-32cmdo/12-way-vert-13a-sw-pdu-32a-plug/dp/EN84502

2: I would prefer to introduce two UPSes for redundancy as per standard practice. The UPSes are 16A devices, I believe that these shouldn't be plugged directly into the 32A supply and that a splitter with 16A protection should be used as per the below, is that correct?
32 Amp Commando Splitter to 2x16 Amp Sockets - https://www.dcdi.co.uk/shop/05m-32-amp-comm-plug-to-2x-16a-comm-skt-mcbs

1: Currently there is a 32A supply being fed directly into PDU with 13A sockets, same as the the link below, my first thought is that this is unsafe, but as each plug would be fused am I wrong?
No it is perfectly safe due to the fused UK style of plugs.

The normal UK ring final circuit has a 32A breaker (or older 30A fuse) for protection due to this.

2: I would prefer to introduce two UPSes for redundancy as per standard practice. The UPSes are 16A devices, I believe that these shouldn't be plugged directly into the 32A supply and that a splitter with 16A protection should be used as per the below, is that correct?
Those UPS show a 16A plug as the power input so they should be protected by a 16A (or maybe at most 20A) breaker.

Your best solution is to get an electrician in to arrange two separate supplies for the two UPS, each with a 16A MCB. I would use a a C-curve for better tolerance of any switch-on surges.