Discuss Commercial property in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Manfredmann

Hi everyone, I've just been asked to do some basic fault finding on a lighting circuit in a commercial property, I've been working as a domestic spark with Elecsa for nearly 8 years and have always turned down commercial work that isn't covered by the scope of part p. Am I actually allowed to carry out basic work like this? And if I'm not, what do I need to do to qualify for a scheme that does cover it?

I realise that domestic work and industrial/commercial are very different, but its not like I want to rewire Hinkley or anything, just sort out a lighting circuit in a shop!
I look forward to your responses!

the key word is competent. if you are, then go ahead. thing to watch out for is where 3 phase is installed. you may get 2 phases feeding into a switch or light fitting. also, make sure your PL insurance covers 3 phase. a lot of policies don't. you will find that a lot of the time, if containment systems are used, singles, then the neutrals will go direct to the light/s and the lives to switch then light/s.

You can carry out the work, you just need to be aware that you may need sufficient insurance to appropriately cover you if things go wrong and there is a lot more health and safety and legislative compliance required in commercial and industrial work.

Remember that installation methods and practices can be very different from a domestic situation and you need to be able to understand these methods and how to deal with them.

For the work you are considering, lighting in a shop, I would probably only be concerned about the scale of the installation and the available accessibility to work on the system. Depending on the size of the shop they may well require you to work out of hours.