Discuss Good electricians hand book? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Morning all,
I have just bought my first house and I am looking to rewire it in the near future room by room.
I am by trade an industrial electrician and have little domestic training other than my inspection and testing and the odd job here and then.
I was wondering if there was a book out there excluding the regs and the onsite guide which has a lot of the most commonly required informations for installing within domestics i.e socket heights, switchgear distances from basins, authorised cable runs and so on and so forth.
This is pretty much to save me having to scroll through the big book but also make sure that I haven’t forgot/missed anything as sometimes the wording in the regs aren’t the clearest.
Also a book including tips and trips for cable runs/chasing cables would be an extra bonus.
Any advice on handbooks/information sources would be brilliant!
Cheers

Morning all,
I have just bought my first house and I am looking to rewire it in the near future room by room.
I am by trade an industrial electrician and have little domestic training other than my inspection and testing and the odd job here and then.
I was wondering if there was a book out there excluding the regs and the onsite guide which has a lot of the most commonly required informations for installing within domestics i.e socket heights, switchgear distances from basins, authorised cable runs and so on and so forth.
This is pretty much to save me having to scroll through the big book but also make sure that I haven’t forgot/missed anything as sometimes the wording in the regs aren’t the clearest.
Also a book including tips and trips for cable runs/chasing cables would be an extra bonus.
Cheers

The on-site guide is a handy reference and should have a lot of what you're looking for: