Discuss High bay lighting installation help!!! in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Munkey

-
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Wonder if anyone can give any advice over an installation Of high bay plasma lights for a large workshop.
I must admit I have never done an installation like this before but love a challenge.
Any advice on wiring techniques and cable type etc would be much appreciated.

The installation is as follows;

15 x 400 watt plasma high bays mounted 10 metres in a new build workshop
plenty of purlins to attach to and a switch needed for each individual light.

I had thought about running an individual 3 core flex through trunking and then a basket and just splitting off to feed 5 rows of 3. It means a lot of cable but it is quick and no joints up top.

Any thoughts????????

This type of job requires you to work backwards, seek tech' advice from MCB manufacturers regarding fittings and how many will be allowed to run a chosen size mcb, this will then let you design the install as you would normally do, have you any info on the fittings as im unfamiliar with you fitting or terminology for it, as i might be able to give rough guide, plus how are you switching.... contactors?.. or as i think you imply a seperate wire all the way from switch to fitting so 15sw' ways.

Last edited:
Hi Darkwood,

Thanks for the quick reply.

The units are plasma electrodeless fittings that have a soft start. 0.5 A start and then warm up to 1.7 A. My boss wants individual switching, so I was going to have 3 lights on a 10 A breaker and hence 5 breakers.

Im planning on 1.5mm PVC but people have suggested singles through conduit?

Never tackled an install like this so dont know which way to go.

Any help is grateful.