Discuss LED lights in a bedroom - Any advice/recommendations? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

N

NeilF

We're having our bedroom refitted and the designer suggested we put in (six) LED downlights on a dimmer. Now I've little experience of them so wonder if anyone here has any advise or opinions on them?

The model the designer recommended are Aurora Sola - 110-240V LED Aluminium IP65 Fixed 9W Downlight Fire Protection Aurora Lighting AU-FRL903PC/30

The model that looks appealing to us as you can change the beam size easily are LEDLite - LED Fire Rated Downlight - Dimmable - IP66 - Warm White

We'd be getting "warm" versions to try and keep that warm halogen feel.

Anyone have LED downlighters? Any opinion/feelings?

Thanks....

you don't need IP66 fittings in a bedroom. i'd stick with the designer's recommendation.

The spec of the designers ones are IP65, so basically the same? :) I suspect they're just made like that these days (IP65/66) be default?

Is your recommendation down to the IP rating, or assuming the designer knows his stuff? Which is fair enough of course!

Note: We're looking to put a pair in a small shower room too, so I IP65/IP66 would be fine in there too!

you're right inasmuch as these complete with lamp fittings have IP rating. aurora have a good rep for quality. just wondering if 6 will be enough. i tend to work on spacing them no more than 3ft. apart.

you're right inasmuch as these complete with lamp fittings have IP rating. aurora have a good rep for quality. just wondering if 6 will be enough. i tend to work on spacing them no more than 3ft. apart.

The room is approx 5x3 meters... Smaller if anything...

So six lights could be put across the middle area of the room with each about 1m apart?

Are you able to comment on putting alot of them on one dimmer? I read somewhere that this is tricky?