Discuss Observations From France in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Mr.Simple

Guys, I will again point out that I am not an electrician but an electronics engineer, so please be patient with me. I recently chatted to a French electrician to identify some key and basic differences between here and France. I was surprised at some of them and thought that most had merit, and decided to share for feedback. Please approach this with an open mind rather than an automatic British is best.

1. They have no ring circuits, all are radial. Power is delivered via 2.5mm wires to up to 8 sockets protected by a 20A breaker. This means that a fault in the wiring results in the customer seeing no power in part do the cct, and they then call someone in to fix it. Here if a ring breaks down all of the CCT remains live and the customer is unaware of the fault.

2. High load appliances, dishwashers, washing machines, tumble driers etc, have dedicated circuits protected by appropriate breakers. This extends the concept that we use for cooker circuits.

3. The breakers in the Consumer unit are double pole switching both live and neutral. This means that if for any reason the polarity is wrong throwing the consumer unit breaker will always isolate the circuit. I know that people may argue that polarity is treated, but are there ever mistakes?

4. The bus bars (live and neutral) lie above the breakers, with the circuit wires coming from the bottom of the breakers. I think in the uk our live bus bar is at the bottom with the circuit lives coming from the top of the breakers. This seems plain wrong as we all know that electricity flows better downhill (electrons are affected by gravity too).

i welcome your thoughts

your points 1,2, & 3 all have thier merits, but as fot electrickery flowing better downhill, it's time for your tin hat. these used to be popular in france:

default.jpeg