Discuss PFC and ZE testing in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

N

noidea

Morning all
I am new to testing and electrics so if my questions are stupid and the answer obvious then I apologise, but we've all got to start somewhere.
I have been doing various electrical jobs around my home. Rewired the shower, cooker and central heating system. I have also rewired the ring main and lighting in the garage and installed a new CSU in the garage.
My 1st question is once I have taken one ZE reading for the shower for instance can I use this reading for all of the circuits I need to test?
Secondly, I am a little confused on the PFC test procedure. I believe I read somewhere that some testers will give you the PFC result at the same time as when the ZE test is performed. But I'm also under the impression that the main earth needs to be connected to do a PFC test and that according to GN3 this test should be performed
at every relevant point of the installation

Am I just wrong about the tester giving the ZE and PFC at the same time? The tester in question was either a Megger 1552 or a Di-Log 9083p

Morning

You wouldnt take a Ze reading for the Showers as such, you would take a Ze for the entire installation, GN3 tells you how to do this, basically it is taken at the DB with the Main Switch open, i.e installation shut down, and the main earthing conductor disconnected.

The Ze reading you get can be added to your (R1+R2) for each circuit to give you a Zs for each circuit.

Testing of an installation has many steps which have to be peformed in the correct order both for safety and also they rely on each other.

PFC is taken in the same place with the same instrument just change the setting on the tester.

Morning all
I am new to testing and electrics so if my questions are stupid and the answer obvious then I apologise, but we've all got to start somewhere.