Discuss Rewire to include ceiling demolition??! in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

spondee

Hi all,
Really need good advice on a rewiring issue. This is my first post, and I’m not an electrician, so please bear with me if my concerns seem daft.

I’m refurbing my small ex-council flat – built in the late 60’s /early 70’s - and suspect that I might need a rewire, as I notice the cabling uses the old colouring system (red for live, etc). All the wiring runs from the loft, where it is stapled to the inside of the joists, and over them in some places. A mate has said he thinks that all my plasterboard ceilings would have to come down, due to the fact that there isn’t room to stand upright, and that, once the mains supply has been cut off, there would be no light to work in. He doubts that electricians could do the work by torchlight.

Will there really be a need for such drastic action? The cost would probably put the job well out of my reach, as I’m recently retired and living on a modest pension.

Any advice would be really appreciated. Thanks all.

I doubt that your celings would have to come down, unless your electrician slips and put a foot through the ceilings! I do most of my rewires just using an headtorch, you'd be suprised how much you can see when your eyes adjust to the use of the head torch.

Have any tests been done on any circuits??

Just because it's black and red and cables clipped over the top if joists doesn't mean it needs a rewire.

It maybe worth getting a PIR done If your concerned, you'll know where you stand then.. May not be as bad as you think

Last edited by a moderator:
Ive only ever been in one flat where i couldn't get to half the loft space with rod or anything, opted to use ct2, instead, once painted it looks like normal coving if you auger the corners properly, instead of using those ugly corners.