Discuss 150mm Aluminium cable installation tips and tricks? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello again

Trying to estimate for a project that includes the installation of 16 x 150mm single aluminium cables, which will require bends.

I have no experience with this type of cable, could someone please describe the process from the start (where it needs to be removed from its reel and straightened) to the end (crimping), and any bits or equipment that maybe uses in-between that maybe useful? Total cable length will be around 160m, installation length will be around 10m.

How bendable - or not - is the cable?

Thanks for your help

Do not pass each cable through a separate hole in any ferrous metal.
Observe manufacturers data regarding supports and distances between them.

If working with big cables, safe lifting and handling is important
Ensure you have a plan
Stop at times to ensure everything is happening as it should.
Go slowly
Have more people than you think you will need.

Ensure no twists are put in the cable, it makes neat bends almost impossible.

Hello again

Trying to estimate for a project that includes the installation of 16 x 150mm single aluminium cables, which will require bends.

I have no experience with this type of cable, could someone please describe the process from the start (where it needs to be removed from its reel and straightened) to the end (crimping), and any bits or equipment that maybe uses in-between that maybe useful? Total cable length will be around 160m, installation length will be around 10m.

Thanks for your help

We could do with more info.
So you have to install 16 lengths of this cable, each 10 meters long.
What type of cable is it? You don't say if its armoured.
What are you installing the cables on and at what height?
What is is wiring from/to?
What does the installation diagram say, or is there not one?

Thanks for info

DC system.