Discuss Cable termination of concentric cable in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Background: I am not an electrician, I am a retired professional engineer high power broadcast transmitter design , but am dabbling outside my sphere of knowledge, so help please. It is along time since I have looked at the 16th edition.

I am not in paid work but am helping a friend who is a farmer.

The question is we are running a single phase supply from a barn to a newly constructed barn, only a few lights and some 13A sockets. 2.5 sq mm SWA cable would do the job protected by a 30A fuse from the existing barn which has an 80A rcd 100mA trip. Around the farm are numerous lengths of SWA cable but are only 1.5 sq mm . We have found a drum , nearly full of a cable I am not familiar with, it is a single core concentric cable. Dimensions are

Center conductor 6.45mm dia solid aluminium eq 32.7 sq mm
Spiral copper neutral 25 strands 0.99m dia eq 19.2 sq mm
Plus sheath
THis cabel will feed a small consumer unit fitted with 10 mA trip
My question is how should it be terminated ? There are other places on the farm where this cable has been used and the spiral copper outer has just been twisted , bound with tape and put into a 100A terminal block. This does not look elegant or professional . Is there a marketed fitting for terminating this type of cable?
I might add this installation will not be inspected or signed off but must be safe for both people and fire risk.
Earthing is provided by earthing rods.

A photo would help!

If it is concentric cable (i.e. inner line, outer is combined E & N) then you can't use it as only the DNO are allowed TN-C supply connections.